Of Mirrors and Metaphors

In order to tie these ideas together and arrive at an idea of the scope of this blog, I’ll quickly try to explain the title. Of Mirrors and Metaphors is about who we are and how we read the world. Remember that I’m operating on the assumption that to love each other well and consistently, we have to know what we know and why we know it. In this way we’re given wisdom to know how to help and encourage one another, by both reading the situation and knowing how that situation fits into the world and how the world works.

I’ve also proposed that the more we understand the world, the more fully we might worship the God who made it. So when C.S. Lewis writes that one of his friends cultivated in him “a determination to rub [his] nose in the very quiddity of each thing, to rejoice in its being so magnificently what it was,” his friend has cultivated in him not only wisdom, but the foundations for worship. And it’s important to see this first with ourselves. Who are we? As humans, the Bible says we’re beings made in the image of God. This means we’re like him. Our character, our desires and our spirits were made to be like his. So as we go through life and meet with one another, our approach to other human beings should start with this respect and awe at another bearer of the image of God. We are mirrors, however faint at times, of God’s glory.

At the same time, the world is full of metaphor. I don’t mean that the world is a metaphor–that it’s a thin veneer over some type of reality that  we can tap into through mysticism or ritual. Instead, I mean an affirmation of the real through understanding the significance and meaning inherent in what we do and see as we go through life. It’s, in a sense, the opposite of how Alex Rosenberg (below) defined the task of the scientist. I don’t want to strip things of meaning based on my assumptions about the world, but to appreciate the meaning that is there, and to see it for what it is.

That’s a lot of words to say that I hope to embrace as much of life as I can on a blog. From people, recipes, songs, poems, books, and ideas to current events, politics, history, pictures, art, language, sport, and animals. This is a blog about rejoicing in the quiddity of each thing by rubbing our noses in it.

2 thoughts on “Of Mirrors and Metaphors

  1. Aaron, I just have this urge to give you all my money and help you go to seminary because you’ve got a great mind, and I believe in you as a human who will change the world through the written word for noble purposes. But, all my money wouldnt even get you a plane ticket to Philadelphia at this point and also i have to pay for groceries. I plan on keeping up with this blog though and weighing in, so keep it coming. Also Hannah said she thinks you have “elevated the medium of blogging.”

    • Thanks, Claire. You’re actually one of the reasons for this blog. I really liked reading what you had to say (in the posts where you weren’t calling me ‘gurl’ and telling me to curl my mancatchers) and thought I’d take the inspiration and run with it to see where I ended up. All I’ve done so far is promise a lot, but we’ll see what there’s grace for.

      Definitely do weigh in! I think I could learn a lot from your insights, hair-related and otherwise.

      (And tell Hannah thanks, too!)

Leave a Reply

